top of page
Traditional roast Beijing Duck, China's most famous dish_edited.jpg

BEIJING DUCK

We come from Beijing, we understand Beijing Duck!

Peking duck is one of the most famous dishes in Peking cuisine.

The term “Beijing duck” refers not only to the complex method of preparation and orthodox serving style of the world-famous Beijing duck, but also to the breed of duck. This means that not every grilled duck which is prepared and served in a Chinese restaurant can be called Beijing Duck.

Unlike most roast ducks, Beijing Duck is not stuffed with any herbs or spice mixes to keep its flavor as pure as possible.

The duck used for the preparation in China is a special breed called the “Beijing White Duck”. This duck originates from the Beijing region and has a larger breast and smaller legs. The skin is thicker and the fat content is significantly higher than most other duck breeds. The meat is succulent, tender and full of flavour. Most commercial ducks on the market are good for grilled duck, but not for Peking Duck.

After tireless trials with ducks of different origins, it was proven that the world-famous “Silver Hill Duck” from Ireland has the most resemblance in the taste to a “Beijing White Duck”.

Bord-Bia-The-Irish-Food-Board_Silver-Hill-Ducks-scaled_edited.jpg
Screenshot+2018-04-06+15.55_edited.jpg

The production of Beijing Duck is very complex. The duck is first blown to separate the skin from the meat, then coated all over with in hot water dissolved mixture of malt sugar, honey, red rice vinegar, corn starch, wheat starch and custard powder. After this treatment, the duck will be left to air dry in a well-ventilated place for at least 12 to 16  hours, depending on the humidity and temperature. After air-drying the duck will be frozen for at least 48 hours to have the skin dehydrated. The duck prepared in this way is then hung on the neck and grilled in the oven for an hour at increasing temperatures, during which the skin puffs up again, becomes crispy and takes on the typical, bright red color.

 

The duck will now be sliced and served to guests with home-made sweetened soy paste, plum sauce, granulated sugar, cucumber strips, leek strips, melon strips and pancakes.

A whole Beijing Duck costs Fr. 128.- and gives a filling meal for two persons, even for three if there is not such a big hunger.​​

Duck breed and country of origin:

Silver Hill Duck, Emyvale, Co. Monaghan, Ireland

 

Pre-order:

A pre-order of at least two days in advance is required.

beijing duck_edited.jpg
kaoya.jpg
Whole Peking duck served with the sides, sauces and wraps.jpg
d3588169_edited_edited.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
Traditional roast Beijing Duck, China's most famous dish_edited.jpg

BEIJING ENTE

Wir kommen aus Beijing, wir verstehen Beijing Ente!

Peking-Ente ist eines der bekanntesten Gerichte der Pekinger Küche.

Der Begriff „Beijing-Ente“ bezieht sich nicht nur auf die komplexe Art der Zubereitung und den orthodoxen Servierstil der weltberühmten Beijing-Ente, sondern auch auf die Entenrasse. Das heisst, dass nicht jede gegrillte Ente, die in einem chinesischen Restaurant zubereitet und serviert wird, darf Beijing-Ente genannt werden.

Die in China für die Zubereitung verwendete Ente ist eine besondere Rasse und heisst "Beijing White Duck". Diese Ente stammt aus der Region Beijing und hat eine grössere Brust und kleinere Beine. Die Haut ist dicker und der Fettanteil deutlich höher als bei den meisten anderen Entenrassen. Das Fleisch ist saftig, zart und voller Geschmack. Die meisten handelsüblichen Enten auf dem Markt eignen sich gut für gegrillte Enten, jedoch nicht für Beijing-Enten.

 

Nach unermüdlichen Versuchen mit Enten unterschiedlicher Herkunft wurde nachgewiesen, dass die weltberühmte „Silver Hill Duck“ aus Irland geschmacklich die grösste Ähnlichkeit mit einer „Beijing White Duck“ aufweist.

Bord-Bia-The-Irish-Food-Board_Silver-Hill-Ducks-scaled_edited.jpg
Screenshot+2018-04-06+15.55_edited.jpg

Die Herstellung der Beijing-Ente ist sehr aufwendig. Die 2,1 kg schwere Ente wird zuerst geblasen, um die Haut vom Fleisch zu trennen. Dann wird die Ente rundum mit in heissem Wasser aufgelöstem Malzzucker, Honig, rotem Reisessig, Backpulver, Maisstärke, Weizenstärke und Puddingpulver bestrichen und anschliessend je nach Luftfeuchtigkeit und Temperatur 12 bis 16 Stunden an einem gut belüfteten Ort trocknen gelassen. Dennach wird die Ente mindestens 48 Stunden lang eingefroren, um die Haut der Ente zu austrocknen. Die so zubereitete Ente wird während eine Stunde lang mit steigende Temperatur hängend im Ofen gegrillt, dabei bläht sich die Haut wieder auf, wird knusprig und nimmt die typische, leuchtend rote Farbe an.

 

Die Ente wird in dünne Scheiben geschnitten und den Gästen mit hausgemachter gesüsster Sojapaste, Pflaumensauce, Kristallzucker, Gurkenstreifen, Lauchstreifen, Melonenstreifen und Pfannkuchen serviert. 

Eine ganze Beijing-Ente kostet Fr. 128.- und ergibt eine sättigende Mahlzeit für zwei Personen, sogar für drei, wenn der Hunger nicht so gross ist..

Entenrasse und Herkunftsland:

Silver Hill Duck, Emyvale, Co. Monaghan, Irland

 

Vorbestellung:

Erwünscht, bitte zwei Tage im Voraus.

beijing duck_edited.jpg
kaoya.jpg
beijing duck 3_edited.jpg
beijing duck 2_edited.jpg
bottom of page